General

My HIV Story

Yesterday I decided to go check my HIV status, my legs led me to the near-by healthy faculty. When I got to the reception there were about 4 people, assertively I told one of the fleshy motherly receptionist. 

“Hello, I want to do a test.” 

Inquistively the receptionist asked “which test?”

“An HIV test” , I said unbothered.

She then directed  me to go to the counsellors before the test. Unfortunately they were out for lunch. Hurriedly, I went back to the reception to inform her that I didn’t find the ladies. The hospitable lady told me to wait on the counsellors assuring me that they can’t carry out an HIV test without counselling despite my willingness. After 30 minutes, another fleshy rather serious faced lady sluggishly walks to the reception. Am then told to go with her,  a  strolls and we come to this lonely place filled with nature’s silence, I would call it a backyard. We were two people, so the lady offers to work on the other and hands me over to a slim soft spoken yet jolly counsellor called Phiona, my namesake smiles she first thinks am lying to her. We start the Q & A counselling. 

With the relevant inquiries being; when was the last testing, do you have a boyfriend, sexual partners, how HIV is exposed, how is it spread and how can it be prevented. The most hardest question was , “what will you do when the results come out positive? ”  It felt like a mathematics equation. Haha!!! I told Phiona, I expect negative results and if they are positive ****sighs*** was speechless. The first time I had an HIV test; it was done by my mother in September 2013, second time was September 2015 and now November 2016. I have always been nervous when I go for these check-ups. It’s not because I have been reckless with my life but when I think about the medicine one has to swallow their whole life, fear clouds my heart. All the more reason to live my life well. Abstinence doesn’t kill.

After a couple of minutes, the test results are ready.Bingo! The counsellor again asks me; “What would you do if  the results are positive?”  Now am scared, the lady is holding my results and asking me such a question. You don’t say! Assuredly with faster heart beats, I tell her I expect negative results. And yes, it was NEGATIVE. This is not simply a story of me walking to the clinic for a check-up. Am trying to tell you that knowing your status is very important and that of your partner if you have any or are planning to get one. First things first. HIV/AIDS is real but doesn’t mean it is the end of the world if you have it. Anyone living with HIV is a role model to me, I realized that yesterday. 

I didn’t go for the check-up because I have been having sexual intercourse or thinking I might have been exposed to the virus. I  bondly walked to the clinic because I needed to know not assume. 2016 is ending, if you haven’t achieved what you wanted at list do yourself a favour and learn more about your health.There is a time in my early childhood I thought positive stood for HIV free and negative means infected. Because growing up I knew the word POSITIVE meant good. Such Irony. 

3 thoughts on “My HIV Story

  1. Well thank you dearest Fiona for the energy and the courage to go for HIV tests. I always pride in young youthful ladies like you who brave to go for HIV tests and I believe it is very important in knowing one’s HIV status.

    HIV transmission cannot be eliminated if we do not know our HIV statuses (i.e., whether we are HIV positive or HIV negative). An HIV test is the only way to determine if a person is living with the virus. Once an individual knows s/he is living with HIV, safer behaviors may be practiced to reduce or eliminate the likelihood of transmission.

    As you may recall that anyone who practices risky any of the behaviors is at risk for acquiring HIV. These risky behaviors include having unprotected sex with multiple partners or with someone of unknown HIV status and sharing injection drug needles or equipment.
    It really should be known that anyone who practices risky behaviors can contract the virus regardless of age, sex, race, income or sexual orientation. It is important that people at risk for HIV get tested. I for one have on several occasions tested at Reproductive Health Uganda Katego clinic. This is in addition to my routinely medical checkups.

    Knowledge of one’s HIV status through HIV testing and counselling (HTC) is a key driver in tackling Uganda’s HIV epidemic. This is why I congratulate you my sister upon the move to test because it helps track how we’re performing as a country.

    In 2013, HIV prevalence among young people aged 15-24 in Uganda was estimated at 4.2% for women and 2.4% for men. in Uganda, 1.5 million people are reported living with HIV. There 140,000 new infections every year and about 28000 death of HIV victims.

    HIV testing can help protect your health. Whether testing shows HIV negative or HIV positive, you can take steps to protect your health. It can detect HIV infection but it can’t tell how long a person has been HIV infected or if the person has AIDS.

    The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that health care providers test everyone 13-64 years old for HIV at least once as part of routine medical care. CDC recommends that people at risk of HIV infection get tested at least once a year.

    Happy World AIDS Day 1st December

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

